AudlemOnline Logo Link

New Leader for Cheshire East Council

26th May 2019 @ 6:06am – by Webteam
Back home  /  News  /  New Leader for CE Council

Councillor Sam Corcoran

Labour's Sam Corcoran has been elected leader of Cheshire East Council – with Independent group leader Craig Browne appointed as his deputy.

The council was formerly led by the Conservatives since its creation in 2009.

Cllr Corcoran, who represents Sandbach Heath and East ward, was elected the leader of the council at a meeting of full council (22 May). Cllr Corcoran immediately appointed Cllr Browne as deputy leader.

Cllr Corcoran will now chair the cabinet. He is also the leader of the Labour group and has been a Cheshire East councillor since 2011.

Upon his election as council leader, Cllr Corcoran said: "I am very honoured and proud to be elected to lead Cheshire East Council. I am pleased that my leadership started with consensus over a motion on the climate change emergency declared by Parliament and with a motion on changing the decision-making arrangements at Cheshire East Council.

"It is necessary to look inwards at the way the council has been operating – but we must also look outwards to provide the services that local residents need and to promote positive change.

"The change of leadership provides an opportunity for change at Cheshire East Council and I hope that all staff, councillors and residents will join with me in seeking to grasp the opportunity for change for the better."

Cllr Corcoran unveiled his 10-strong cabinet team at the meeting, which will be in place until a new committee system of governance is introduced, which is expected in May 2020. The cabinet members are:

  • Cllr Sam Corcoran, council leader and chairman of the cabinet;
  • Cllr Craig Browne, (deputy leader);
  • Cllr Dorothy Flude, responsibilities for children and family services;
  • Cllr Laura Jeuda, responsibilities for health and adult social care;
  • Cllr Jill Rhodes, responsibilities for public health and corporate services;
  • Cllr Mick Warren, responsibilities for communities;
  • Cllr Toni Fox, responsibilities for planning;
  • Cllr Brian Roberts, responsibilities for highways and waste;
  • Cllr Nick Mannion, responsibilities for environment and regeneration; and
  • Cllr Amanda Stott, responsibilities for finance, IT and communications.

This article is from our news archive. As a result pictures or videos originally associated with it may have been removed and some of the content may no longer be accurate or relevant.

Get In Touch

AudlemOnline is powered by our active community.

Please send us your news and views using the button below:

Village Map

© 2005-2024 AudlemOnline
Visitors Today 0 / May 25,355